Well Hello Stranger

I know…I know it has been way to long since I have updated anything…like over 4 months, but I am going to try this again!  I better include a recent photo, as you may have forgotten what I look like 🙂  This is me with one of my bestest who was visiting from Tampa.  We were attending a charity event this summer:

097

I am going to start with sharing with you some meal prepping I did yesterday.  I made 2 recipes, one new and one an old favorite.

Starting with the new!

Mexi Spiced Beef and Veg Soup

1lb 93% lean grass fed ground beef

1 carton organic low sodium chicken broth

1 yellow onion

1 yellow squash

1 red bell pepper

1 orange bell pepper

4 carrots

1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes

4 cloves garlic

chili powder, cayenne, garlic powder, your fave seasoning

I started with browning the beef and onions in a little EVOO.  I then started added things beginning with garlic and ending with the broth.  I wanted everything to kind of simmer together.  You can use whatever veggies and seasonings you like, I just kind of threw this together.  I plan to serve it with this amazing KerryGold Grass Fed Dublin Cheese I got at Costco and some avocado.  It should be pretty tasty!

I also made an old fave but the lazy man’s version and that is my turkey bolognese with spaghetti squash.  I also topped this with a little of the yummy cheese and also some red pepper flakes.  It was lazy because I prefer to use fresh tomatoes, but they didn’t look that good at the store, so I used organic canned tomatoes.  I also lost all my fresh herbs with the first freeze, so I had to use dried herbs as well.  Obviously fresh herbs are preferred!

I browned some ground turkey breast with some onions and garlic in a little EVOO and added some stewed and diced tomatoes followed by lots of herbs and lit it all simmer together.  I almost cut my hand off slicing my squash and the baked it in the oven and scooped it all out.

Both of these meals will reheat well which is perfect for me, as my week is going to be pretty busy.

Here is a pic of the 2 together.  I got a little delete happy on my camera last night and all I saved was my instagram post(follow me at ieatcleankc on there as well)

Image

Ok so now let’s catch up a bit on what I have been up to.  No, I haven’t completely fallen off the healthy eating and fitness bandwagon, but I have been super busy…no excuses here, just always working on that balance between wanting to be really healthy and fit and wanting to eat out, drink, and not stress about things.  Ya I know this is what everyone struggles with…

Anyways, since I last blogged I have traveled a lot…some for work and some for pleasure.  I have been to Colorado, Philly, Tampa, Vegas, Louisville, Chicago and all over Missouri a couple of times(Springfield, Colombia, STL).  The first 3 were for pleasure and the rest were work.  I’ve been a little burnt out on the work travel lately, so I am excited that I do not(that I know of) have any overnight travel for work for the rest of the year!  Should give me more time to cook and share my recipes with the world.

Besides working and traveling I have spent a lot of time running and working out.  I signed up for my first half marathon, which is in March, but I haven’t really wanted to run so much lately.  I decided that I will run at least a mile a day from Thanksgiving-New Year‘s and I am hoping to build my endurance back up and really get after it in Jan, as that will be 60 days.  This fall I have ran 2 5k’s and one 8k, most recently running the Ward Parkway Thanksgiving Day 5k on Thursday AM.  Here is a photo of me and a couple of the ladies who motivate me to want run:

Image

I have really been enjoying my workouts at EnduraCamps, so I thought I’d share with you a few photos from there as well:

131 003 250 002

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving Weekend and is enjoying the holiday season.

Until next time.

-Sara

5 thoughts on “Well Hello Stranger

  1. Very cool Sara! I’m going to try your new recipe. So, crossfit huh? My sister is a level 1 instructor. She and her husband have been “die hards” for a few years now. We all have to do WODS when we see them on our family vacas!
    Well keep up on all the good things you are doing!
    Amy.

    • My gym isn’t technically a crossfit gym, we do a variety of workouts…I like that type of workout though. We just don’t give weight recommendations like they do. Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

