Shin Splits and Sweet potatoes

Whole 30 day 20!  Which means in one week I will start incorporating foods back in…starting with dairy and in 2 weeks my brother is getting married!  Pretty exciting stuff.  This is definitely the first memorial day weekend in a long time that I haven’t drank, but I am ok with it.  I really feel that beyond special occasions or situations, I can do this for the most part.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t plan to avoid alcohol forever.  I like to drink!  I just will be less likely to have just a drink here or there…I’m hoping my tolerance will be down a bit too, so I can get a buzz off 2-3 drinks.  Working in the liquor biz for so many years, I have quite the tolerance(and the little belly I just can’t seem to lose).

Image

As you can see from the title of this weeks post and the photo above with my ice packs, I have shin splits.  I’m pretty pissed about it to be honest.  I have a pretty tough, hilly 5k next week, and my 10k is only 3 weeks away.  I got up this morning to go to a class at Endura, and my shins hurt going down my stairs(my booty is also extremely sore for Thursday’s class) so I decided to update my blog instead.  Once I am done I plan to go to CityGym and try to do some elliptical and maybe some lifts with the upper body.  I’m going to the local amusement park here today, World’s of Fun, so I will be walking around plenty.  Just wish I could have gotten up and put in 3-4 miles…

Here is a photo of Thursdays EnduraCamp workout(the booty killer…ha):

Image

I started the week out by gardening for the first time with goods I got on Mother’s Day.  Looking forward to cooking some healthy, clean food with the herbs on the bottom.  Lucky to have great people in my life to hook me up with beautiful things like this:

Image

Monday I spent most of the day at a golf tournament.  Thank goodness I brought food because there where hot dogs, candy bars, and unhealthy trail mix everywhere.  Not to mention the bloody mary’s I was not discouraged from indulging in(I didn’t of course).

Here was my lunch and a snack(Applegates organic herbed turkey is what is with the egg):

Image

For dinner this week I made a chicken recipe I found online.  It was a little bit time consuming on the prep and a little mustard heavy, but the chicken was juicy and delicious.  Here is a link to the recipe from Elana’s Pantry http://www.elanaspantry.com/baked-mustard-lime-chicken/.  I also made the butternut squash from week one again, and I think I may make it again this week since the coconut milk is open and it tastes amazing.  Plus they actually had organic squash at Natural Grocer’s.  Last week I had to buy it at a conventional store.

Image

I’ve been pretty obsessed with sweet potatoes lately.  I made little breakfast sandwiches a few times this week, as well as a baked one for dinner on days I went to Endura in the evening.  Here are a few sweet potato highlights for you:

ImageImage

Last night was really amazing out, so I decided to grill.  I marinated some chicken breast in Tessamae’s BBQ sauce, a tossed red bell peppers and canned sliced pineapple in coconut oil, and I cut a sweet potato up into big wedges, blanched in water for about 10 minutes, rubbed with ghee, cinnamon, and chili powder and put them all on the grill.

Image

Image

Now off to the gym.  I may not do much cardio cuz I’m so dang sore, but I plan on working my shoulders and tris pretty good.  Probably some planks to, as we do a ton at Endura and my endurance kinda sucks.  Nervous for the weigh-in and measurements next week, as I don’t want to be disappointed.  I’ve worked really hard, and I’m proud of myself…so I guess that is all that really matters.  Until next time.

-Sara

Leave a Reply

