And so it begins…

Well I just finished Day 2 and so far so good!  I have yet to do my weigh in/measurements—that is coming tomorrow morning.  I will take some before photos after that happens.

I bought a lot of food yesterday and it was kind of expensive.  I’d say I spent close to $100, but a lot of it is stuff I’ll have for a while.  I did have to go to 3 grocery stores, as I refuse to do the majority of my shopping at Whole Foods…or as an employee at Trader Joe’s called it “Whole Paycheck.”  I started at Trader Joe’s, moved on to Natural Grocers and ended at Whole Foods.

Here is a photo of my shopping spree:

IMG_0381

My first 2 meals came from what I already had in my fridge…I was already eating Paleo for the most part so I had made myself some turkey marinara and spaghetti squash, which I had for lunch yesterday and today.  For breakfast yesterday I had Organic omega 3 eggs in ghee and bell peppers.  My dinner last night as a mexi beef recipe from “It Starts With Food.”  I was so hungry that I forgot to take a picture.

I was probably hungry because I also ran 3 miles last night(and walked to and from meeting them) with my running group “Sports Bras to Sports Bars” of course I skipped the bar part despite the beautiful evening.  The run was rough due to mixture of new shoes and new humidity + the gluttony that I allowed myself over the weekend before I started my Whole30.  I am sure it will get easier 🙂  I also went to half a yoga class afterward at my gym, but I was so hungry that I left and made dinner!

Here are yesterdays meals:

IMG_0374

IMG_0378

I slept really well last night with no Ambien(I occasionally take a half) and no iPad(I usually watch netflix or hulu on it in bed at night). I made an amazing dish with butternut squash after I played squash tetris yesterday afternoon.

IMG_0384

The squash dish is also from “It Starts with Food” and it contains pureed butternut squash with ghee, coconut milk, and a bunch of yummy spices.  Did I mention that squash dish is awesome?  I had it for breakfast and dinner today with eggs, some organic chicken sausage from Whole Foods and bell peppers.  I didn’t even miss my beloved Sriracha(I’ve been obsessed with that stuff lately!)  Lunch was the same as yesterday.

IMG_0387

IMG_0392

I ran again today, but after 1.5 miles my calves were not having it and I walked the other 1.5 back home.  According to Jenny, a trainer at my gym who is an avid runner, it could just be that the new shoes changed my gate…or they may not have enough support.  Regardless I am ordering another pair of my current running shoes, the Saucony Mirage, as soon as I finish this post.

My first questionable situation will happen this weekend, as I am going to a Mother’s Day luncheon at my grandma’s retirement community on Saturday.  It is a set menu and obviously not Whole30 complient.  I discussed with my mother tonight if I just pretend to eat and move it around my plate or eat nothing…I am pretty sure my 94 year old grandma will not notice if I don’t eat it but she will not understand if they serve me nothing.  One Mother’s Day we are taking my mom to lunch and then to my cousins fiances family nursery(where I plan to come home with fresh herbs :)) and the restaurant I chose has a burger with local beef, so I will have that with onions and bacon and a side salad…no biggie!

Tomorrow I will be trying a new bootcamp at Endura Camps, and I will be eating lunch out because of work…yikes!

Thanks for reading my blog and checking in with me.  Until next time.

-Sara

Leave a Reply

