The Local Pig (I can’t wait to eat their bacon)

Good morning!  Day 13 whole30 here, but I am not going to talk about what I ate, but I am to tell you about what I am going to eat.  There is a butcher shop here in KC called the Local Pig.  I highly recommend checking it out!  The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but I will be going back often regardless.

I mean how can you pass up a place that sends you home with a package like this:

Image

How cute is that!  Anyways, this place is all about meat.  Everything in there is from local farms no more then 100 miles away.  They butcher their own meat, they make their own sausages, and I wanted to buy up about half the store.  

I have been reading up about grass-fed vs grass-finished beef.  Apparently a lot of farmers use their own grain feed to fatten up the cows over the last few weeks, because grass fed cows just don’t have the fat that a lot of cuts of meat need to taste their best.  As long as they use non-GMO feed I guess I am ok with it.  This place had some strips that were grass-fed all the way, but the guy working the counter said it just that most of the guys in the shop don’t prefer it and they don’t often carry it.  Interesting…

I have been searching for bacon that does not have any sugar in the cure and I just can’t find any here locally.  I thought this place might be it, but I was wrong.  Their bacon however looks amazing.  Once I am done with the whole30 I am going to get me some of that.  Speaking of the whole30…looks like I am going to make mine the whole27, as I am traveling for the final 3 days.  I want to slowly bring things back into my diet, as recommended, and my main concern is dairy.  I don’t want to get sick while traveling.  Also my brothers wedding weekend starts 3 days after I am supposed to be done.  I heard a story about a bride eating clean pre-wedding and then throwing up after eating her cake.  I don’t want to be miserable all weekend, and I know I will be eating whatever is available/served to me.  OK so back to the bacon.  Check this stuff out:

Image

As I mentioned above everything comes from a 100 mile radius, and they tell you where its from.  I took a picture of the board that had where everything was from, but I can’t find it.  Might post later.

I ended up buying breakfast sausage(which i just enjoyed with sweet potato hash and a fried local egg), a few different other sausages, campo lindo chicken tenders, and some farm fresh eggs that were $2 cheaper then I bought at the farmers market last weekend.(http://www.campolindofarms.com/index.html)  Here are all my goods in a basket before they but them in the box:

Image

I used a verde chorizo with almonds sausage for dinner last night.  I sauteed it with bell peppers in a little coconut oil and served with a sweet potato, because I worked out before.  Not the prettiest pic ever but it tasted pretty good(the breakfast sausage was better!):

Image

I am working on what to make this week but am thinking about some baked mustard lime chicken for dinners, and I will be using the things I bought at The Local Pig for breakfast and lunches.  I hope the weather is as nice where you are as it is in KC because it is perfect here today!  Until next time.

-Sara

Leave a Reply

